GEONEWS

Proceedings of the 27th Annual General Body Meeting of the Geological Society of India held on 9th March, 1986 at the Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad, Bihar at 4-00 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT

Sriyuths: (1) D. Mukhopadhyay; (2) S. V. P. Iyengar; (3) S. Acharya; (4) K. Naha; (5) S. Sen; (6) S. K. Sen; (7) T. K. Baidya; (8) R. K. Verma; (9) R. R. Patil; (10) M. Prakash; (11) K. L. Chakraborty; (12) M. K. Mukhopadhyay; (13) S. C. Sarkar; (14) V. D. Choubey; (15) P. K. Ramam; (16) V. P. Mishra; (17) S. N. Sarkar; (18) R. L. N. Dixit; (19) R. H. Sawkar; (20) B. P. Radhakrishna and (21) Kurien Jacob.

The notice calling the meeting was read by the Secretary. The Annual Report of the Society together with the audited statement of accounts and balance sheet for the year 1985 (which was earlier circulated) were presented by the Secretary. There were no comments. S. Acharya moved and K. Naha seconded the adoption of the report along with the audited statement of accounts. These were unanimously adopted.

The General Body considered the proposal to amend the constitution and the following special resolutions were passed:

- (1) Under the head 'Management', column 5, the following shall be added:
 - 'Assistant Editor' who shall be resident in the headquarters of the Society'.
- (2) Under the clause defining the powers and duties of the office bearers (p. 3) the following shall be added:
 - 'Assistant Editor': He shall assist the Editor in the publications of the Society.

The members were informed that the Society had approached the Commissioner of Income Tax-II, Karnataka, Bangalore for recognition under Sec. 80-G of the Income Tax Act 1961. In this connection the Commissioner of Income-tax in his letter No. PRO-718/169/77-CIT-II dated 10-12-1985 has suggested to amend the deed and include certain clauses to the Memorandum of the Geological Society of India. General Body accorded approval for the inclusion of the following clauses to the rules under the Memorandum of the Society:

Investment Clause: (1) The funds of the Trust/Institution/Society shall be invested in the modes specified under the provisions of Sec. 13(1)(d) read with Sec. 11(5) of the Income-Tax Act, 1961.

Accounts Clause: (2) There shall be maintained all accounts of the Trust/Institution/Society regularly. The accounts shall be audited by an auditor every year.

Amendment Clause: (3) No amendments to the memorandum of association and rules and regulations shall be made which may prove to be repugnant to the provisions of Sec. 2(15), 11, 12 and 13 and 80-G of the Income-Tax Act, 1961. Further, no amendment shall be carried out without the prior approval of the Commissioner of Income-Tax.

544 GEONEWS

Dissolution Clause: (4) In the event of dissolution or winding up of the Trust/Society/Association/Institution, the assets remaining as on the date of dissolution shall under no circumstances be distributed among the trustees/members of the Managing Committee/Members of the Governing Body, but the same shall be transferred to another Charitable Trust/Society/Association or Institution whose objects are similar to those of this Trust/Society/Association/Institution and which enjoys recognition under Sec. 80-G of the Income Tax Act, 1961.

- (5) The Trust formed shall be irrevocable.
- (6) The benefits of the Trust/Society/Institution/Association shall be open to all irrespective of caste, creed or religion.
- (7) The funds and the income of the Trust/Society/Association/Institution shall be solely utilised towards the achievement of the objects and no portion of it shall be utilised for payment to Trustees/Members by way of profit, interest, dividend, etc.

On the occasion of the Annual General Body Meeting of the Society, three-day group discussion was held on 'Precambrian of the Eastern Indian Shield'. Detailed report of the group discussion will be presented separately.

Election: The scrutiny of the ballot papers for the election of the Council for 1986-1988 was then taken up. The President appointed R. L. N. Dixit and R. R. Patil as Tellers. There were 395 ballot papers. On the basis of the report presented by the Tellers after counting votes, the President declared the election of the following Fellows to the various offices and membership of the Council for 1986-1988:

President

Kurien Jacob (Bangalore)

Vice-Presidents
(1) Hari Narain (Hyderabad)
(2) N. K. Mukherjee (Calcutta)
(3) T. M. Mahadevan (Hyderabad)

Secretaries
(1) R. H. Sawkar (Bangalore)
(2) S. K. Tandon (Delhi)

Foreign Secretary

Treasurer
G. Shivashankar (Bangalore)

Editor
B. P. Radhakrishna (Bangalore)

Council Members: (1) S. Acharya (Bhuvaneswar); (2) S. B. Bhatia (Chandigarh); (3) S. K. Biswas (Dehra Dun); (4) T. C. Devaraju (Dharwar); (5) H. K. Gupta (Trivandrum); (6) A. S. Janardhan (Mysore); (7) R. K. Lal (Varanasi); (8) D. Mukhopadhyay (Dhanbad); (9) M. N. Balasubrahmanyam (Bangalore); (10) K. Naha (Kharagpur); (11) G. R. Narayan Das (Bangalore); (12) A. B. Roy (Udaipur); (13) V. Ramesam (Delhi); (14) P. K. Ramam (Hyderabad); (15) S. K. Ramaswamy (Bangalore); (16) K. V. Subbarao (Bombay).

Secretary proposed a vote of thanks to the Chair and the meeting concluded thereafter.

Bangalore 31st March 1986 R. H. SAWKAR Secretary