## **GEONEWS**

Proceedings of the 31st Annual General Meeting of the Geological Society of India held on Thursday, the 5th April 1990 at the Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehra Dun, U.P., at 5.00 p.m. to consider and adopt the Annual Report of the working of the Society and the statement of accounts for the year 1989.

## MEMBERS PRESENT

Sriyuths: Kurien Jacob, R. H. Sawkar, S. B. Bhatia, S. K. Biswas, V. C. Thakur, A. K. Sinha, O. P. Varma, M. S. Srinivasan, K. B. Powar, A. D. Ahluwalia, Gopendra Kumar, S. K. Shah, K. R. Gupta, A. Sahni, B. K. Pandey, G. R. Dikshitulu, T. Ramamohana Rao, C. Leelanandam, S. V. Deshpande, S. V. Srikantia, O. N. Bhargava, K. K. Sharma, Neptune Srimal, M. Ramakrishnan, K. V. Ravindran, Trilochan Singh, Surendar Kumar, V. C. Tewari, Nazar Abbas, S. K. Bhushan, N. S. Virdi, G. D. Gupta, S. Sinha-Roy, Ravi Shanker, R. K. Mazari, Rajesh K. Srivastava, V. Rajamani, Hakim Rai, M. N. Joshi, K. S. Bist, J. T. Gergam, P. K. Verma, Anupendu Gupta.

- 1. Notice calling the meeting was read by the Secretary.
- 2. The Annual Report together with the audited statement of accounts which had been circulated earlier was presented by the Secretary. There were no comments. Prof. O. P. Verma moved and Dr. S. K. Bhushan along with Dr. Surendra kumar seconded the adoption of report along with audited statement of accounts. These were unanimously adopted.
- 3. Prof. M. R. Srinivasa Rao award for the year 1989 was presented to Prof. V. Rajamani of the Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi in recognition of his outstanding contributions in the field of Igneous Petrology and Geochemistry. Prof. L. Rama Rao Gold Medal for the year 1989 was presented to Prof. Ashok Sahni, Centre of Advanced Study in Geology, Panjab University, Chandigarh for his outstanding contributions to Indian Stratigraphy and Palaeontology.
- 4. The citations read by the President of the Geological Society of India at the time of the presentation of the award and the reply given by Prof. Rajamani and Prof. Ashok Sahni were noted.
- 5. On the occasion of the Annual General Body Meeting, a group discussion on 'Suture Zones—Young and Old' and a seminar on Himalayan Geology was held at the Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology.
- 6. The meeting concluded with Vote of Thanks by Dr. V. C. Thakur, Director of the Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology.

Dehra Dun 5th April 1990 R. H. SAWKAR Honorary Secretary