GEONEWS

Proceedings of the 33rd Annual General Body Meeting of the Geological Society of India held on Wednesday, the 23rd September 1992 at the Department of Geology, University of Poona, Pune-411007, at 5.00 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT

Abhinaba Roy, A.; Badve, R. M.; Bhargava, O. N.; Channappa, B. G.; Deshpande, B. G.; Gogte, B. S.; Gupte, R. B.; Jadhav, P. B.; Kale, M. G.; Karanth, R. V.; Karmalkar, N. R.; Koregave, M. A.; Kshirasagar, L. K.; Kulkarni, Himanshu; Kulkarni, U. D.; Leelanandam, C.; Mahabaleswar, T. D.; Merh, S. S.; Patil, D. N.; Pawar, N. J.; Phansalkar, V. G.; Powar, K. B.; Radhakrishna, B. P.; Rajshekar, C.; Rao, M. H. R.; Sayyed, M. R. G.; Sawkar, R. H.; Somayajulu, B. L. K.; Srikantia, S. V.; Subbarao, K. V.; Thigale, S. S.; Vaidyanadhan, R.; Vivek S. Kale.

1. Notice calling the meeting was read by the Secretary.

2. The Annual Report together with the audited statement of accounts which had been circulated earlier was read and comments were invited from the Fellows present. There were no comments. S. V. Srikantia proposed the acceptance of thr report. It was seconded by K. V. Subbarao.

3. The audited statement of accounts was proposed for adoption by R. B. Gupte and the same was seconded by B. L. K. Somayajulu.

4. The Annual Report and the audited statement of accounts for the year 1991-1992 were then adopted.

5. The following awards were presented :

B. Rama Rao Award for the year 1992 was presented jointly to B. K. Bandyopadhyay and A. Abhinaba Roy of the Geological Survey of India, Central Region, Nagpur.

L. Rama Rao Award for the year 1992 was presented to O. N. Bhargava of the Geological Survey of India, Chandigarh.

M. R. Srinivasa Rao Award for the year 1992 was presented to C. Leelanandam of the Department of Geology, Osmania University, Hyderabad.

(Citations and Replies are presented separateley in this issue.)

6. The appointment of M/s B. S. Nagaraj, Chartered Accountants, Bangalore, as auditor for auditing the accounts of the Society for the year 1992-93 was approved.

7. The results of the trienneal elections held for the different offices of the Society for the period 1992–1995, was announced.*

8. S. S. Merh proposed a vote of thanks to the chair and the meeting concluded thereafter.

23rd September, 1992	R. H. SAWKAR
	Hon. Secretary

* The composition of the New Council is printed on the inner page of the front cover.