## GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF INDIA BANGALORE

Proceedings of the Annual General Body Meeting of the Society held on 9th May 1970 at 4-30 p.m. at the office of the Department of Mines and Geology, Race Course Road, Bangalore-1.

Present: Shriyuts M. S. Balasundaram, C. S. Pichamuthu, M. B. Ramachandra Rao, L. Rama Rao, C. Karunakaran, S. V. P. Iyengar, M. N. Viswanathiah, M. R. Srinivasa Rao, S. Sambe Gowda, P. S. Narayana, G. S. Annaiya, G. Shivashankar, J. S. R. Krishna Rao, K. Gavi Setty, R. H. Sawkar, B. L. Srinivas, M. S. Sastry, P. S. N. Murty, T. N. Srinivasan, R. Srinivasan, K. V. J. R. Krupanidhi, S. Venkataraman, Honnappa, A. R. Gokul, K. T. Prabhakar, V. Venkatachalapathy, S. Suryaprakasha Rao, B. Vasudeva Murty, and B. P. Radhakrishna (Secretary).

- 1. Dr. C. S. Pichamuthu was proposed to the chair.
- 2. The general body was informed of the passing away of the following Fellows of the Society: Dr. D. N. Wadia, Sri B. Rama Rao, Dr. M. S. Krishnan, Prof. N. Rajagopalan, Prof. H. Yabe, and Prof. H. H. Read. A minute's silence was observed in memory of the departed Fellows.
  - 3. Notice calling the Meeting was read by the Secretary.
- 4. The annual report of the Society for the year ended 31-12-1969 together with the audited statement of accounts for the year was presented by the Secretary. As there were no comments on the report or on the accounts, Prof. Viswanathiah moved and Sri M. S. Sastry seconded the adoption of the Report and the Statement of accounts for the year 1969. The annual report and the accounts were unanimously adopted.
- 5. The following amendments to the Articles of the Society earlier circulated among the members were taken up for consideration:
  - (i) To drop the clause relating to Associate Members.
  - (ii) To amend the clause relating to the Fees payable by Fellows so as to read "Every Fellow shall, before admission as such, pay an admission fee of Rs. 25 and the annual subscription of Rs. 30" in place of "Every Fellow shall, before admission as such, pay an admission fee of Rs. 25 and the annual subscription of Rs. 20"

After discussion and clarification of points raised by members, the two amendments were put to vote and unanimously adopted.

- 6. Sri M. S. Balasundaram, Director General, Geological Survey of India then addressed the members on 'Engineering Geology and its future development in India'.
- 7. Prof. L. Rama Rao, Dr. C. S. Pichamuthu, Sri M. S. Balasundaram, Dr. S. Sambe Gowda and Dr. S. V. P. Iyengar spoke individually about the services rendered by the deceased Fellows Dr. D. N. Wadia, Sri B. Rama Rao, Dr. M. S. Krishnan, Prof. N. Rajagopalan and Prof. H. H. Read.

With a vote of thanks to the Chair, the meeting concluded at 6-30 p.m.

A Scientific meeting was held on 10th May 1970 when the following papers were presented:

1. C. S. Pichamuthu	Charnockite nomenclature
2. M. N. Viswanathiah	Structure and stratigraphy of the Badami series
3. A. R. Gokul	Geology and iron ores of Goa
4. B. L. Srinivas and R. Srinivasan	Dharwar stratigraphy
5. M. G. Anantha Padmanabha Setty	Heavy metal concentration in the Red Sea
6. P. S. N. Murty	The geology of the Kuduremukh iron ore deposits.